top menu

Latest News

Latest News

Industry updates, news, and information | updated regularly.

Industry Awards:

The BMAA has several awards to promote recognition of excellence and innovation in the industry.

Major Industry Award – Hall of Fame:

1999 was the inaugural year for the Hall of Fame Award, and the Award is made in the year of the Expo. The purpose of this Award is to honour a person who has been a major contributor to our industry over the past 40 years.


  • 1999 – Matti Ruonala, Uniline
  • 2001 – Bill Young, Windsor Products
  • 2004 – Gerald Saltman, Hunter Douglas, and Albert Walmsley, Westral Home Improvements
  • 2007 – Claudette Shakespeare – Helioscreen and Tass Zorbas, Sharatan Wholesalers
  • 2010 – Joe Turner, Image Blinds
  • 2013 – Ross Emms, Ireland Blinds, Peter Hartland, Hartlands Blinds, Carmelo Licciardi, Acmeda, Kristine Brown, Decor Blinds and Ron Bayley, Ozroll
  • 2014 – Peter Meyer, Blinds by Peter Meyer

Other Awards:

  • Award of Excellence – awarded to John Watson in 2007
  • Directors Award – presented to Peter Schweinsberg in 2007