Hall of fame


Major Industry Award – Hall of Fame:

The BMAA’s Hall of Fame honours individuals who have been a major contributor to our industry. The inaugural year for the Hall of Fame Award was in 1999, and the Award is made in the year of the SuperExpo.


  • 1999 – Matti Ruonala, Uniline
  • 2001 – Bill Young, Windsor Products
  • 2004 – Gerald Saltman, Hunter Douglas, and Albert Walmsley, Westral Home Improvements
  • 2007 – Claudette Shakespeare, Helioscreen and Tass Zorbas, Sharatan Wholesalers
  • 2010 – Joe Turner, Image Blinds
  • 2013 – Ross Emms, Ireland Blinds, Peter Hartland, Hartlands Blinds, Carmelo Licciardi, Acmeda, Kristine Brown, Decor Blinds and Ron Bayley, Ozroll
  • 2014 – Peter Meyer, Blinds by Peter Meyer
  • 2015 – Robert Bailey, Bailey Blinds
  • 2016 – Frank Cairns, Decor Blinds Australia Pty Ltd
  • 2019 – Christopher Nolan, Nolan Group, and Tony de Maaijer, Ziptrak
  • 2023 – Tony Politis, formerly Hunter Douglas, Dr Ibrahim Elassaad, CW Products and Bruce Turner (Wynstan)


Other BMAA Industry Awards and Recipients:

  • Award of Excellence – awarded to John Watson in 2007
  • Directors Award – presented to Peter Schweinsberg in 2007
  • Lifetime Recognition Award – presented to Eric Brice and Ernie Brice in 2016
  • Life Membership – Presented to Joe Turner and Ross Emms in 2023
Slide Image

2023 Hall of Fame Inductees

Dr Ibrahim Elassaad (left) and Bruce Turner (absent Tony Politis)

In June 2023, the following persons were inducted into the BMAA Hall of Fame:

  • Tony Politis, formerly Hunter Douglas Ltd
  • Dr Ibrahim Elassaad, CW Products
  • Bruce Turner, Wynstan
Slide Image

2019 Hall of Fame Inductees

Christopher Nolan and Tony de Maaijer

Christopher Nolan, Managing Director of the Nolan Group

Chris is the Managing Direcor of the Nolan Group, a national distributor of industrial textiles and outdoor blind and awning fabrics and related fittings, trading from seven locations nationally.

Chris was elected to the BMAA Board of Directors in November 2010. He has been the Chairman of the committee that has organised the three BMAA/STA extremely successful SuperExpos that have been held.

Tony de Maaijer, Managing Director of Ziptrak

Tony is the founder of Ziptrak Pty Ltd and inventor of Ziptrak Outdoor Blinds. Tony and his wife have had a significant impact on the industry as the popularity of the new track-guided outdoor blind category has resulted in job creation throughout Australia with many small and large businesses that distribute, fabricate and retail Ziptrak products.